Noir: Poetry on the Radio

Oh my goodness, another late post! I’d better hurry before my coach turns into a pumpkin! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Look who I saw today at Marianjoy? I got him on camera, but his sweetheart wasn’t nearby. Perhaps she was out doing errands. I hope they weren’t quarreling! โค

Donald takes a rest while Daisy runs errands.

Donald takes a rest while Daisy runs errands.

After work, my sister and I met for dinner at one of our favorite restaurants, Freshii. They have delicious organic, eco-friendlyย food. Everything there is biodegradable, even their disposable silverware and cups! The food is so fresh (as the name suggests), wholesome, and delicious! The food we’re displaying is their red pepper hummus, and we loved it! Jennifer repaid me for my compulsory picture for my blog by sneaking in the ever-so-flattering one with the puffed cheeks. Yay! Haha. (I suppose I deserved it; I didn’t even give her a chance to change after working out, but she looks so cute anyway, doesn’t she?) โค

Sisters at Freshii

Sisters at Freshii

Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt was pretty interesting:

Write a poem inspired by noir โ€” it could be in the voice of a detective, or unravel a mystery, or just describe the long shadows of the skyscrapers in the ever-swirling smog.

Noir reminds me of those old radio programs that they still play on NPR sometimes; my dad and I listen to them in the car. That, and the mystery instructions, reminded me of a wonderful opportunity I had last year. DePaul University’s award-winning radio program, Radio DePaul, invited me to be a guest for one of their hour-long programs on their Student Writer Series show. This was one of the most fun things I’ve ever done! Here we are, right before going on air:

Radio DePaul

Me, Marcy, and Colin on Radio DePaul

Marcy and Colin were the SWS‘s cohosts before we three graduated last year. Actually, Marcy is going to be in a screenwriting workshop with me and two other ladies from our program that will be starting up soon–more on that later! ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, here is the link to the whole hour-long radio show. The beginning segment is me reading a fairy tale I’ve written, “The Mirror.” The ending is a selection of my poetry–but I only want you to listen to one of them right now, because I may feature the others later this month. ๐Ÿ˜‰ The one I’d like you to listen to is at 42:30, and it’s called “The German Professor.” Colin introduces it slightly and we discuss it afterward, but it is based on a true event my sister and I experienced together. The style is “prose poetry,” and it was a piece I actually wrote for my portfolio in my grad school poetry class. It is an interesting style that usesย  paragraph-style text and punctuation but lyrical words and imagery. When we got that prompt, I knew it was perfect for the event my sister and I were following, which was too big for choppy lines and vague images. I needed a format that gave me room to say all the things I never did while the event was happening.

Click on the .wav file in the post below to hear me read “The German Professor”–skip to 42:30: http://depaulsws.wordpress.com/2012/02/03/february-3-2012-show/

That’s all for tonight, lovelies! Have a good rest of your week! I promise some longer posts soon. ๐Ÿ˜‰

8 thoughts on “Noir: Poetry on the Radio

  1. I had such a fun dinner with you! I am so proud of you for being on Radio DePaul!!…and you *know* “The Mirror” is my fave!!:)

    Like

    • I had a blast, too! Thanks so much for the compliments! I do know you love “The Mirror”–could it be because it’s about twin sisters? ๐Ÿ˜‰ I need to finish my other fairy tales and put together a collection! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  2. Pingback: Meeting You: Poems of Greeting; Love Heals Grief | Jelly-Side Up

  3. Pingback: Forces of Nature: Earth Day and Pastoral Poems | Jelly-Side Up

  4. Pingback: Audiobook Month & History of a Reluctant Aural Fanatic | Jelly-Side Up

  5. Pingback: Academy Awards: Reflections and Book Nominations | Jelly-Side Up

Leave a Reply

