Blossoming Fortune

Dear readers, I must apologize for my spotty posting the last few days! I haven’t forgotten about you, I promise, and I will make a longer post soon! I have been very involved with my memoir project for my upcoming presentation luncheon on May 9th. Click the event on the calendar widget on the sidebar if you’d like to RSVP; there’s still time!

Today’s NaPoWriMo is short but sweet–literally! You’ll see why:

Today I challenge you to re-write Frank Oโ€™Haraโ€™s Lines for the Fortune Cookies. The ideal fortune is a one-liner, and one-liners thrive on a very poetic compactness of expression.

I felt this prompt had an especial importance to me, because I love cookies more than is good for me, and because I am always outraged at sloppy excuses for fortunes (I quell my rage with more cookies). After all, a cookie is not a place for a truism or a complaint–it must be a forecast of the future, the only thing more exciting than a cookie itself! Maybe that’s a bit dramatic of a reaction, but I think fellow writers understand being upset over a wasted writing potential. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Readers, this is for all of you–effective immediately!

“Blossoming Fortune”
By: Amanda K. Fowler

You are a bud, with beautiful and tender potential–you will blossom this spring, if you take the time and care to nurture yourself.

2 thoughts on “Blossoming Fortune

Leave a Reply

