Rays of Love: An Illuminating Pantun

Hi everyone! I bet you didn’t think I’d be posting again so soon, but I couldn’t stay away. ❤ However, this will probably be my last post for about a week, so I can focus on my memoir project, but I should be able to post intermittently after that time. Remember, if you’d like to attend my memoir preview luncheon on May 9th, please refer to the details by clicking on the calendar entry on the right.

I was such a fan of the pantun form I used yesterday that I wanted to post another today. You can see the prompt and explanation of the form in my most recent post, but a quick review: It’s a quatrain, with an a-b-a-b rhyme pattern. The second couplet relates to the first in an imagistic way. They often link nature and love.

“Rays of Love”
By: Amanda K. Fowler

Sunlight streams through wispy puffs of cloud:
Spotlights illuminating through darkness.
When doubt or sadness have been my shroud,
Your love’s a rope to the sun out of the abyss.

Leave a Reply

