Happy Mother’s Day

Hello hello! I’m happy to be back on here to write for you more. My memoir event went extremely well, and I will write a post about that at length very soon. Thank you so much for everyone who supported me with that!

Today is a very special day: Mother’s Day! Am I the only one who ponders the punctuation on that holiday for a long time before writing it out? (Probably.) I actually reasoned in the past that it would be “Mothers’ Day,” since it is a day celebrating all mothers, therefore suggesting the usage of the plural possessive (i.e., the apostrophe outside the “s”). However, today, I thought I’d better double-check that, since I am writing it somewhere ever so important and official as my blog. 😉 This is what I discovered on Wikipedia:

In 1912, Anna Jarvis trademarked the phrases “second Sunday in May” and “Mother’s Day”, and created the Mother’s Day International Association.[8] She specifically noted that “Mother’s” should “be a singular possessive, for each family to honor its mother, not a plural possessive commemorating all mothers of the world.”[9] This is also the spelling used by U.S. President Woodrow Wilson in the law making official the holiday in the United States, by the U.S. Congress in relevant bills,[10][11] and by various U.S. presidents in their proclamations concerning Mother’s Day.[12]

Well, who am I to argue with tradition? I do understand the rationale behind the singular possessive use. So, now that we are all further enlightened, I will tell you about my Mother‘s Day. 🙂

I am so lucky to have such a wonderful mom with whom I can ask or share anything. A lot of my friends called her the “cool mom” while we were growing up, because I could ask her any embarrassing question and she would always give me an unabashed, thorough answer. (There are so many things that seem embarrassing to a young girl, things about her own self, things about the other gender, etc.) My sister and I had a wonderful childhood, and we’re both so proud of our mom, who’s taught us not only how to be a good woman, but how to be a good person. My mom didn’t have a lot while she was growing up, but she had strong dreams, and she studied hard, read many books, got great grades, and made a career for herself. When she met my dad in college, it was pretty much love at first sight, and they got married and started a future together–a future that eventually included Jennifer and me. 🙂 I really admire my parents’ relationship for how much they’ve been through together and how each obstacle only brings them closer together.

I think the evolution of a mother-daughter relationship is fascinating and can be beautiful. Jennifer and I are so lucky in that our mom is still our mom–that is, she will urge us to go to bed if we are up late but have work the next day (ahem), and she is still the very best at getting stains out of clothing, no matter how many times she shows us how–but she is more than just our mom. She is one of our best friends now. We love to hang out with her; she’s so much fun, and she has a great sense of humor–one that she no longer has to keep PG-13. 😉 We will never stop learning from her, but what is so touching is that she now says she learns from us. She, along with the rest of my family, is one of my biggest cheerleaders, always encouraging and inspiring me, even when I may doubt myself. She celebrates my successes more than her own, and she is one of the kindest and most genuine people I know.

Close-up of me, our mom, and Jennifer at the Downton Abbey Tea Event last month

Close-up of me, our mom, and Jennifer at the Downton Abbey Tea Event last month

Although we already celebrated Mother’s Day, we had a nice, quiet day together today. My dad made a big breakfast and dinner, which was really sweet, not to mention delicious. 😉

Mother’s Day has a different meaning to me now, too, that I am a mom (of guinea pigs!), myself. I have been the very blessed mommy of two wonderful guinea pig boys: Chad and Oreo. I have learned so much about unconditional love and parenting from both of them. I know a human baby will bring a totally different set of challenges, but I would guess the love is much the same. I’m sure all of the pet parents out there would agree that there is no other love like the bond you feel as a parent to a darling who will always be dependent on you in some ways–but that does sound a lot like a traditional “child,” now that I think about it. 🙂

Mother's Day Morning Cuddles: Oreo and Me

Mother’s Day Morning Cuddles: Oreo and Me

If you’ve already been following my blog for a bit, you’ll notice my babies have been the subject of several of my posts and poems. In case you missed it, here is a post with a poem I wrote about Chad and Oreo. You can find a few other poems about them in my archives, like this one.

So Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there! I am especially grateful for my babies who make me a mom; for my “Marianjoy mom,” Char, who always looks out for me; for my boyfriend’s mom, who gives me great advice; and for my own mom, who has nurtured me all my life and helped shape me into the person I am today. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Wow! Such a lovely post ~ I am for once speechless! Thank you so much, Sunshine, for this beautiful tribute and for every moment you share with me. xoxo

    Like

  2. What a beautiful commentary Amanda! Thanks for the honorable mention on getting breakfast and dinner together as well!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Memoir Preview Event, and Why I’m Writing It in the First Place | Jelly-Side Up

  4. Reblogged this on Jelly-Side Up and commented:

    Hello! I hope the mothers of all kinds had a lovely Mother’s Day weekend. We had a low-key celebration with our mom this weekend, including two bike rides; one dinner out; one homemade dinner in; and a Game of Thrones viewing (that counts, right…Mother of Dragons? 😉 ).
    Happy Mother’s Day to my mother, who does so much for us every day. She’s shaped me in many ways, inspiring, encouraging, and loving me my whole life.
    I’m re-blogging last year’s Mother’s Day entry I wrote. Read on for history on the holiday, a tribute to my mom, and more. ❤

    Like

  5. A beautiful tribute post to your mom! It is timeless prose. Great words from a great daughter. She is SO lucky to have two GREAT daughters and for you two to have her!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

