When Poetry Fails You…Turn to Shakespeare

Hi all; have you missed me as much as I’ve missed you? ❤ It’s been a really busy week with being out of town, writing projects, and work. I actually was working till 9:45 p.m. last night, but it was so worth it: I got to listen to and meet fourteen very deserving Marianjoy Scholarship winners. They were all talented and courageous individuals, and I was so proud of them all for their perseverance and sharing their stories. The Scholarship Program has actually been a big part of my life; I was lucky enough to win it four times, back when I was a student. Having that financial and emotional support from such a loving community meant the world to me, and I could see it did to these students and their families, too. Congratulations to all the winners this year, including the ones who couldn’t be there in person!

I wanted to share a poem with you that I started tonight, but it’s not coming out quite how I wanted. My pillow is calling me, and I think I will answer it! Hopefully you’ll understand, from the above paragraph, that it is with good and fulfilling reason that I am too tired to share a poem with you tonight–but I promise to, soon. 🙂

I am going to call upon a poet whose words may delight you in my stead. We all know that William Shakespeare is the epitome of wit, but I, myself, was surprised and fascinated to see how many of our common phrases are thanks to the bard. And as for me, dear readers, “Good night, good night! Parting is such sweet sorrow, / That I shall say goodnight till it be morrow.” (Romeo and Juliet)

“A 20-year-old girl named Becky from London posted a picture of one of the pages of her Moleskine notebook on Tumblr.” –npr.org. The picture went viral immediately. This is what we English majors do at 3 a.m. (the time she said she “scribbled” this page).

2 thoughts on “When Poetry Fails You…Turn to Shakespeare

  1. Pingback: Celebrating My Sister: Why She is My Hero + Her Birthday | Jelly-Side Up

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Was Forced to Read | Jelly-Side Up

Leave a Reply

