A Prince is Born!

(Image from Huffington Post)

“IT’S A BOY!” Twittersphere, Facebook…verse? and similar sites erupted with this today as the Duchess of Cambridge and Prince William welcomed the new prince into the world. It’s news we’ve been waiting for for weeks, and if you’re a Kate Middleton/Duchess Catherine fan like me, you’ve been watching the news very closely. πŸ™‚

As you probably know about me by now, I’m as interested in news stories as their global impact. We’re so lucky to live in an age where we can voice our opinions and be heard so easily. (Of course, in my opinion, that privilege comes with the responsibility of courtesy and accuracy, but that’s really nothing new, over the centuries–only the speed and accessibility!)

Not surprisingly, #RoyalBaby and all sorts of variants are trending on Twitter right now. In fact, I started my day with a Tweet with that very same tag; you can see it on my Twitter sidebar widget, along with Jennifer’s colorful and excited note. πŸ™‚ However, Twitter was NOT the place to get news today, as rumors spread like wildfire. For awhile, people were retweeting that Kate had already given birth to twins. Personally, I always check news sources before retweeting something like that, although my heart did skip with excitement upon first view. πŸ˜‰ I think people get over-excited, make jokes/speculations that get misinterpreted, and accidentally start rumors. However, some great Tweets were Tweeted today, packing guffaw-worthy reflections in 140 characters or less, a limitation I personally am still trying to adjust to. Click here for a list of the day’s top funny Tweets. These are a couple of my personal favorites:

John Frusciante
BBC News now reporting it’s not delivery, it’s DiGiorno.

According to the London Evening Standard, the first photographer, Jesal Parshotam,Β to report the labour (a “u” in honoUr of this British event! πŸ˜‰ ) decided to respect the Duchess’s privacy by not photographing her.Β β€œWe had decided in advance we were not going to take a photo of her,” claims Parshotam. β€œI made that decision β€” she’s a woman in labour. I just wanted to photograph the commotion and convoy of cars. That was a personal decision we both made. To take a picture of her would have been over stepping the mark.”
How wonderful! I’m sure the couple appreciated the privacy, especially considering the horrible experience the family has had with paparazzi in the past. 😦 I think Parshotam made a nice step in improving the reputation of paparazzi everywhere.

The Daily Mail has a very detailed account of the day, along with lots of nice pictures.

Speaking of pictures, you can bet your crumpets that Instagram, Tumblr, and the rest of the graphic world were not to be outdone by us linguaphiles. Honestly, although I am partial to words, I think Tumblr took the cake–tart?–today when it came to hilarious announcements.

The Royal Announcement, “Lion King”-style. How could I not love the combination of Disney + Kate? I burst out laughing when I saw this one, though I imagine Harry will make a much better uncle than Scar. πŸ˜‰

And now, I will explain why I love Kate so much. Can we just call her Kate for a minute? πŸ™‚ Kate Middleton, as the world knew her prior to her marriage, has captured the hearts of people worldwide. She’s been credited for breathing life into the British Monarchy, sometimes viewed as too-prim or out-of-touch with common folk like us. We love her for her grace, her manners, her kindness, her style, her HAIR–or maybe we hate her for that last one, but only because she has raised the bar quite high for women’s hair. πŸ˜‰

I’ve been following news about Kate since right before her marriage, but she’s been a great role model for women for longer than that. My sister, for instance, has been obsessed (she admits it!) for years now. And why not? The Duchess has shown women they don’t have to choose between love and following their own dreams/being independent. She’s performed very gracefully under lots of media pressure; she seems only to become more endearing with each charity and humanitarian engagement, with which she is actively involved.

Kate Middleton, the Duchess of Cambridge is presented with flowers and a hug by then 6-year-old Diamond Marshall, a little girl who had cancer. Diamond got her two greatest wishes: to meet a princess (after viewing Kate’s wedding from her hospital bed) and to beat cancer, in 2011. It’s OK if you’re crying; so am I. :’) (Photo from “Mirror News”; click image for full article. Here is an article updating Diamond’s good health.)

And so, let me add my personal congratulations to the millions around the world who are celebrating this new baby. I’m very fond of Kate and William, as individuals and as a couple, and I can only imagine they will be great parents who will raise a great future king. πŸ™‚

———–

Check back on my blog later tonight for my first post of David Litwack’s whirlwind blog tour this week.

10 thoughts on “A Prince is Born!

  1. Here, Here Amanda! Well said and congrats to Kate and William. Long life, health and happiness to them, their families and of course the new baby Prince!

    Like

  2. This just might be one of my favorite blog posts of yours, Amanda!! Wonderfully written, and I totally agree with you on all things Kate-related…and just on all things in general. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Jennifer! I really appreciate the kind words. I should’ve known you’d be a fan of a Kate-related article! πŸ˜‰ Thanks for introducing me to her world of fashion, etc. ❀

      Like

  3. Pingback: David Litwack Novel Publicity Blog Tour Day 1–Interview with the Author | Jelly-Side Up

  4. Pingback: Royal Baby Update + David Litwack Novel Publicity Blog Tour Day 2–Author Guest Post | Jelly-Side Up

  5. I love the way you covered the little Prince’s arrival, it’s such a lovely post. Seeing Kate with Diamond reminded me of when that happened and my thought that she will be a fabulous mother; I believe it even more so now. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Susan! I think she will be, too. She is just filled with inherent compassion; I think that makes for a great “princess” as well as a great mommy. πŸ™‚
      By the way, congrats on your filming about Kate for ITV! I hope it will be available to download so I can see it! πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Pingback: Celebrating My Sister: Why She is My Hero + Her Birthday | Jelly-Side Up

  7. Pingback: Happy Sweetest Day & High Tea at The Drake | Jelly-Side Up

Leave a Reply

