Top Ten Tuesday: Exciting New Book Releases

Today is Tuesday, and that means another installment of a top-ten list! Today’s list, prompted by The Broke and the Bookish, is: Top Ten Books On My Fall 2013 TBR List (you could do top ten fall releases you plan on reading or just your planned reading list).

Well, with that kind of freedom, I will do a meld of the two. I will list my top 10 want-to-read books that have been released recently/will be released soon. (As with last week’s list, all images are courtesy of Barnes & Noble. Click them to buy the books.)

1. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

If you’ve read any other posts on this blog, you know that I am a HUGE Neil Gaiman fan. This is Neil Gaiman’s newest adult novel, and the first (adult novel) he’s written since 2006. I actually started listening to this audiobook, but as you can imagine, the waiting list for this at the library is pretty long, so I had to return it before I could finish it. Boo! I was really loving it so far, and I can’t wait to find out what happens. That’s why this is definitely #1 on my list, although technically, it’s only half. 😉

2. Allegiant/Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Allegiant (Divergent Series #3) (B&N Exclusive Edition)

The final book in this trilogy will be out on October 22nd. I have no good reason why I haven’t read the 2nd one (Insurgent) in this trilogy yet. Honestly, my reason is that I know the book is buried in my tiny college bookshelf (different from my overstocked MAIN bookshelf, you see) in the basement under piles and piles of other books and other things. I’ll need to get a hard hat with a light to unearth it. And I have this thing about not listening to an audiobook version of a book I have a physical copy of, unless I’ve already read the physical copy. It’s weird, I know. But Divergent was an AMAZING book, a 9.5/10. It’s a thrilling, innovative dystopia that has great writing and engaging characters. And Veronica Roth is SO sweet and humble; I got the opportunity to meet her at her first book launch, before her popularity exploded (which it did a few days later, literally). She deserves all her success.

3. The Fault in Our Stars, John Green

The Fault in Our Stars (B&N Exclusive Edition)

I’ve been hearing nothing but praise for this book. It’s earned top critical and everyday reader praise. From what I’ve seen, it’s an important book–and it will ultimately rip my heart out when I get around to it. I’m thinking of it like medicine–it will be good for me, but it might be a bit hard to bear on the way down. I’ve heard it’s beautiful, and I do love books that grab my heart, so I know I just HAVE to read this. It’ll be a race to read it before the movie comes out.

4. Lament by Maggie Stiefvater

Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception

I’ve been hearing about this YA author for years, but somehow, I haven’t read her work yet. She’s got several best-selling series out (and some new releases soon), so I’m not sure where to start. This one about faerie musicians looks right up my ally, though, so I think I’ll start here. 🙂

5. Ruin and Rising/Shadow and Bone (The Grisha Trilogy) by Leigh Bardugo

Shadow and Bone

The last book of this acclaimed trilogy is on the 2014 release list. I have the first book, but I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I’ve read that Russian fairy tales play into the story, and that the main character is a Strong Female Character. I don’t see how I couldn’t love it! (By the way, I love how my favorite authors are rooting for each other. Note Veronica Roth’s blurb on the front of this cover. Tamora Pierce also wrote a blurb for Lament, above, though it’s not pictured.)

6. The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa

The Iron King (Iron Fey Series #1)

It looks like the last book of this series was out last year, but I started hearing lots of buzz about this only recently. Perhaps it’s because I only joined Twitter recently, and I get a lot of my publishing info from news sources on there…at any rate, I’ve been hearing great things about this series, and it looks really interesting.

7. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Tiger Lily

Until I recently read the classic J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan, I never realized how heartbreaking and beautiful the story was. I’ve heard great things about this book, and I think it’d be so interesting to see the story through Tiger Lily’s eyes. She’s an often-forgotten secondary character, but I’d bet she’s an SFC.

8. Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky

Several of my bookish friends have suggested this one, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. I believe the last one in the trilogy hasn’t been released yet. I’ve just noticed how I’ve been letting the YA romances stack up in my to-read pile (#3, 4, 7, & 8, from what I can tell). In the pure YA romance genre (that is, YA books where the love story is the main story), I’ve been somewhat disappointed in what I’ve read. I think a good love story needs a lot of surrounding plot to make it whole, just like real life. I do have high hopes for these, though, so I should probably stop procrastinating. 😉

9. The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

The Snow Child

I first read about this one in a Costco catalogue/newsletter, of all places. The title struck my eye as romantic (in the old-lore sense) and mystical, and the author’s name charmed me into reading the interview (my favorite LOTR character is a shieldmaiden AND an author?!). Then, the interview made me cry, but it also put this on my to-read list, where it’s been since 2012 when it came out. I need to stock up on tissues before I invest my emotions into this one. It will be another good-for-me-sobby one, I believe.

10. Shadowscale (Seraphina #2) by Rachel Hartman

Seraphina

Last but certainly not least is the sequel to my beloved Seraphina. There’s no cover image for it yet, so I’m putting in the prequel. If you saw last week’s list or read my audiobook postyou know I’m a big fan of the first Seraphina book. From last week: “This enchanting tale speaks volumes about human nature–and how better to do that than with dragons? The characters and the world completely pull you in, almost without your realizing it until you have to close the book/pause the CD. ;) Hartman’s innovative twist on classic elements is both familiar and refreshing at the same time.” The first book was satisfying in tying up loose ends–way more than I anticipated (YAY HARTMAN), but I still can’t wait to read about what will happen next for this lovable heroine.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Exciting New Book Releases

    • Evy, good point! Actually, if you click on the book, it will take you to the publisher’s description on the B&N page. I was afraid to make the entry too lengthy by including both the description and my opinion, but I will definitely take this into account for next time! Thank you for your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

