Banned Books Week Fun–Ways to Celebrate

Image courtesy of www.bannedbooksweek.org

Hello, readers! Happy Friday!

Tomorrow marks the end of Banned Books Week, which you can read about in my previous post. It’s an important holiday to me, as both a reader and a writer.

And there’s still plenty of time to celebrate. Since it’s Friday, I know you’re in the mood to party. Here are some exciting ways to kick off your weekend.

Check out the “Fun & Games” section of Marquette University’s Banned Books feature. You’ll find a word search, a crossword puzzle, and a trivia quiz!

If that quiz isn’t enough for you, try The Guardian’s “Banned Books and Censorship” quiz. No need to study, but you will see the answer to one of those questions by the end of this post. ๐Ÿ˜‰

And to find out just how you rank as a banned books reader, take the American Civil Liberty Union’s Banned Books Quiz. To up my own score from “Brave New Bibliophile,” I’m vowing to read some more of those selections.

Sure, it may be nerdy to consider taking quizzes on your weekend as fun. If you’re excited about Banned Books Week, though, I’m sorry to break it to you, but you’re already a nerd. But we nerds have our own candy, and that’s pretty cool, right?

Nerds candy (image courtesy of Amazon)

Speaking of cool, I found this quote byย Oscar Wilde that perfectly captures the heroism of taking risks as a writer:

An idea that is not dangerous is unworthy of being called an idea at all.

It’s fitting for why we should read banned books, too.ย In fact, it’s such an important and timeless cause that I think we should celebrate it all year long, not just during this week. Banned Books Awareness is a great resource to read for updates and thoughts about banned books, all year long.

Image courtesy of www.bannedbooksweek.org

I bet you can guess the BEST way to “celebrate the right to read.” Pick up 1, or 100, and read it! Let me know what you choose and how you feel after you read it. “Literary gifs” on Tumblr (also here on WordPress) picked out some good ones, along with their reasons for being banned, and created this great graphic. Maybe this can get you started. ๐Ÿ™‚

12 thoughts on “Banned Books Week Fun–Ways to Celebrate

  1. Well, I will say that “Any book worth banning is worth reading” is almost always true. ๐Ÿ™‚ Example: Shades of Gray got challenged somewhere or other. Shining example of literature and storytelling it is not.

    Like

      • Hahaha, if I had Gottfried narrating for me, I would have absolutely finished it! No, it’s really disappointing, though not for the reason you’d think. I wouldn’t have minded a back-to-back litany of hot and steamy as silly as that would have been. It was more a question of an endless stream of inanity and blushing and stammering and dark-brooding-looks-TM.

        You should give it a go, if only to fully appreciate this inexplicable phenomena.

        Like

      • Haha! I hope he does actually complete the audiobook. As much as I’d try to, for the sake of trying to be an impartial reviewer, I just don’t think I could take it seriously! So I say go ALL THE WAY silly with Gottfried! Hehehe.
        Interesting. That is the only reason I really want to read it–to attempt to understand what’s captivated the world. It’s way outside of my usual genre styles, so I may have a difficult time of it.

        Like

      • I’m looking for romance recommendations, specifically. I haven’t yet found what I would describe a *perfect* romance book.
        As a reader, I get annoyed when things are over-the-top sentimental and characters are flat. So, I think what is most important to me are:
        1. Good, dynamic characters–ditto for their relationships
        2. Great writing, language and structure
        3. Interesting story that teaches you something

        Like

      • Okay, here are a few books with light romantic elements:

        Sunshine by Robin Mckinley – Vampire romance done well.

        Freedom and Necessity by Steven Brust and Emma Bull – Bourne Identity meets historic fantasy. Dense style, but lots of fun.

        Hobb’s Bargain by Patricia Briggs – Fantasy story, a female character that grows, lovely tone.

        Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold – traditional fantasy setting, a female lead in her 40’s sets out.

        Son of the Morning by Linda Howard. There’s no getting around the fact that time travel romances are weird. But this book pulls some things off that I don’t see often.

        Romance-romance:

        – Something by Susan Elizabeth Phillips. Maybe “Dream a Little Dream”? Two wounded characters collide.
        – Smooth Talking Stranger by Lisa Kleypas
        – The Duke and I by Julia Quinn (Goodreads Author)

        If you do end up reading any of these, let me know what you think/like/dislike and I can totally throw more recommendations at you. :3

        Like

      • That is an awesome list! Thanks so much for all of that detail! I will definitely add those to my to-be-read list. “Hobb’s Bargain” sounds particularly interesting!
        In this age of Goodreads slander, it’s sometimes hard to find a good new book based on recommendations! So I really appreciate your personal recommendations. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Book Turn-Offs | Jelly-Side Up

  3. Reblogged this on Jelly-Side Up and commented:

    Hello, dear readers! In celebration of Banned Books Week, I wanted to share this post I wrote last year of my thoughts on the event and ways to celebrate.
    Stay tuned next week for a new blog post on what I’ve been up to lately. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Enjoy Banned Books Week–read something controversial and push your comfort zones–that’s when we grow the most. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

