Fruity Little Poem: Ode to a Key Lime” | A-to-Z NaPoWriMo

Hello, dear readers! I hope, despite the bad rap it tends to get, that your Monday was pleasant. Mine was–I got to spend time shopping with my dad, followed by a book-talk-sushi-date with Jeremiah, topped off with this:

Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt took me far down memory lane–back to high school, to be specific. Upon reading the prompt, I realized I’d already written a poem that matched it perfectly, from a similar assignment in Senior AP English. While I searched for the poem in the archives of my computer, I found many, many pieces of writing, including fiction, poetry, a screenplay, critical essays, memoir-style essays, and more. I even found chapters from the original version of the YA fantasy novel I’m currently working on. (Thank goodness I restarted it anew…) I was shocked to see how much I’d written, not just as a student, but also in my free time, and it’s amazing to me how long it took me to decide to be a professional writer. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I was also grateful to discover the acquisition ofย my degreesย in English and Writing & Publishing was time and money well-spent, considering my vast improvement–though I still catch vestiges of sentimental romanticism creeping into corners of my work from time to time.

NO! Bad sentimentalism!

Luckily, I found this poem wasn’t sappy–but rather tart. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Todayโ€™s prompt is to write a love poem . . . but the object of the poem should be inanimate. You can write a love poem to your favorite pen, the teddy bear you had as a child (and maybe still have), or anything else, so long as itโ€™s not alive!

Ode to a Key Lime
By: Amanda K. Fowler

Bright green:
A color usually associated with jealousy.
But you, little one,
Are more envied than envying.

Exotic in origin;
Nothing commonplace about you.
Divorce yourself from your family,
Take your own name and the equatorial beach house.

Beautiful, perfect fruit;
Bewitch your victims into biting your bitter flesh.
Intoxicating, electrifying;
They canโ€™t stop drinking till your body is drained.

Prima donna of flora,
Grace us with your presence!
We eagerly await your renaissance all year,
Only to have to part after so few months.

Pies, juices, garnishes;
Tart though you may be,
We find a way to glorify you;
For you deserve the honor of kings.

17 thoughts on “Fruity Little Poem: Ode to a Key Lime” | A-to-Z NaPoWriMo

  1. Great poem, really snappy and freshly in flavour, hehe…awe i love the ghetty image too, i have a pug ๐Ÿ™‚ I have just dipped my toe in to the water of poetry on my other blog, i tried a haiku too then ran off frightened lol. i am following you now and excited to read what you write next. Hello from another a-z blogger too, how is it all going for you?

    Like

    • Thank you very much! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I bet your haiku is great–I’ll make sure to stop by and read it!
      It’s so hard to find time to do the challenges–I’ve fallen behind, but I hope to catch up!
      Good luck to you, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • Thank you I have had a break from poetry during the Easter holidays as having the kids around really isn’t condusive to artistic license lol let’s hope it comes back xx great to chat!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

