Death of a Literary Legend: RIP to Sir Terry Pratchett

Very sad news arrived in the fantasy/sci-fi community yesterday: Sir Terry Pratchett, prolific fantasy/sci-fi writer, has passed away after an eight-year battle with Alzheimer’s. He wrote over 70 novels, many of which are considered modern classics. His unique wit and imagination have inspired millions of readers all over the world. Fans are certainly grieving today, not least of whom is his friend and co-author, Neil Gaiman. Gaiman wrote a touching tribute to the man here, citing his own earlier article last fall when confronted with the thought of losing Pratchett:

I rage at the imminent loss of my friend. And I think, “What would Terry do with this anger?” Then I pick up my pen, and I start to write. –Neil Gaiman

Another tribute came in the form of a comic from webcomic xkcd, illustrating the feelings of so many:

RIP Sir Terry Pratchett

“Thank you for teaching us how big the world is by sharing so many of your own.” –xkcd.com’s tribute to Sir Terry Pratchett

Thanks to Sir Terry Pratchett for his insight on humanity and life. I can’t believe I haven’t read his famous Discworld books yet, but they’ve been bumped up to the top of my to-be-read list now. Do you have a favorite Pratchett book, readers?

7 thoughts on “Death of a Literary Legend: RIP to Sir Terry Pratchett

    • Tanya, I feel the same way! Thank you for posting the link to the interview. I’d heard about it, but I haven’t listened to it yet. I’m listening to it right now. It’s very sweet. 🙂
      Which are you going to start with–Good Omens or Discworld? I can’t decide, myself!

      Like

  1. I haven’t been able to pick up Pratchett yet. I really want to, but it’s one of those worlds that is so vast it’s intimidating (a bit!) Which one will you be starting with?

    I am really saddened by his loss.

    Like

    • I so agree! I have his book “The Wee Free Men” sitting on my shelf, which I see is part of the Discworld series, but not the beginning. It seems maybe it could serve as a standalone, but I’d probably want to start at the beginning! I’d also really like to read “Good Omens,” the book he co-authored with Gaiman. Since I am such a Neil Gaiman fan, that seems like the most logical place for me to start.
      I am deeply saddened by his loss, too–partly as someone who didn’t become a fan of his work while he was alive. :-\ Luckily, his legacy lives on in his immortal literature. It’s amazing, the impact his death has had on the sci-fi/fantasy community. You can feel the mourning all over the world. 😦 ❤

      Like

  2. Pingback: Women Warriors–Literary Match-Ups | Jelly-Side Up

Leave a Reply

