Happy Birthday J. M. Barrie! Peter Pan’s Importance to Adults + Adaptations

Happy birthday to J. M. Barrie, author of many wonderful works, and most famously, Peter Pan. In honor of his birthday, Book Riot posted this list of books inspired by Peter Pan, some of which are a retelling of the story, and some of which act as prequels/sequels to the original content.


This book holds a special place in my heart and imagination. My exposure to it as a child was mostly through the Disney Peter Pan movie, followed by Hook. Then, as a teenager, the little-known, fantastical, romantic live-action version came out, and it became my favorite of all. I also loved the recent Johnny Depp movie about the author’s life.

However, it wasn’t until a couple of years ago that I finally read the original book–which I absolutely LOVED. At the end, I cried–truly feeling the loss of innocence that must come with “growing up,” even as we try to remain optimistic and imaginative. It describes a truth that’s well-known, but in such a lovely way that it feels you’ve never heard it before. It may be labeled as a children’s book, but, as with many with the label, you can’t understand all its layers until you look at childhood in retrospect.

That’s why I’m excited to see this list. Tiger Lily is already on my “To Be Read” list, but I think I need to add many of these others, too!

How about you, readers? Is this a special story for you? What versions are you familiar with?

P.S. I am planning to post a Mother’s Day tribute tomorrow, but in case I get too busy with festivities–I’m wishing all mother figures out there a happy day! ❤

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday J. M. Barrie! Peter Pan’s Importance to Adults + Adaptations

    • I’m so glad you liked it! Thanks so much for the kind words! What a great way to put it–the author DID make us believe in pixie dust–that is, all things imaginative and hopeful. 🙂

      Like

  1. Pingback: Happy Mother’s Day! | Jelly-Side Up

Leave a Reply

