Happy 115th Anniversary to L. Frank Baum’s “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz”

Today is the 115th anniversary of the publication of L. Frank Baum’s The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. Is this a special book or movie to you? What about the many spin-offs it’s inspired?

For a fascinating look into the inspiration behind the classic work, check out the Smithsonian’s online gallery and videos here.

I really need to read the original book–it’s been on my list for years. I’ve seen the movie many times, of course, especially as a child, when my sister couldn’t get enough of Dorothy’s ruby slippers. (Did you know they were silver in the original book–changed to ruby to show off the movie’s technicolor?) P.S. My sister is still on the hunt for a pair of ruby slippers of her own–the marketing team just didn’t cater to tall young girls like us at Dorothy’s age. 😉

Wicked, by Gregory Maguire, is a very important book and musical to me. I read and watched it at a very important time of my life–a little over a month after my traumatic brain injury. It was very inspiring to me to see a young woman change the world for the better, even if she looked and thought differently than everyone else. I couldn’t believe my luck when the author, Gregory Maguire, visited my college campus and I got to thank him in person for the impact he’d had on my life. (Thanks to fellow blogger, Chris, for discovering the opportunity!)

Fangirling and getting many books signed by my author hero and inspiration, Gregory Maguire

Though the book and the musical are very different, I love them both. “Defying Gravity” is still the song I try to live my life by. 😉

So, happy anniversary to a book that has inspired the imagination–and heart, brains, and courage–of people around the world for 115 years.

4 thoughts on “Happy 115th Anniversary to L. Frank Baum’s “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz”

Leave a Reply

