Goodnight, Sweet Oreo <3

I have been dreading writing this post, but I must share it with you, dear readers, because it’s a huge part of my life.

Our darling Oreo passed over the Rainbow Bridge 12 days ago. He had heart disease and lymphoma that led to a sudden, fated eventuality. He has found peace, and we’re trying to find some, too.

We are heartbroken, but we are finding comfort in the MANY beautiful memories he gave us. He inspired love and joy in so many, and I think that’s how we should remember him. I think he still has that job.

We’ve been looking at the thousands of photos he graciously let us take, putting them in frames on our walls, re-ingraining them in our minds. From the first to the last, he was always precious and lovable.

The day after we brought him home ❤

The night before we had to say goodbye ❤

His many of his fans around the world (!) have sent us condolences, memories of him, and keepsakes that have given us comfort, too. For animal lovers, these babies are more like family members than “pets.” I am forever grateful for the supportive guinea pig devotee community that has shared love and grief with us.

The crematorium made each of my family members a set of footprints from Oreo. What a treasure. ❤

Thank you so much to MJ from Caden’s Corner for making this beautiful, perfect painted rock model of Oreo, pictured here with his long-distance girlfriend, Patrice from Australia.

Thanks to the many posts in tribute to Oreo, including this one from his best friend, Erik, the Special One in France:

It hasn’t been an easy time for us, but the pain is worth the enormous love and joy Oreo gave to us. He taught us patience, unconditional love, and strength. Rest well, my darling baby boy, and may you be popcorning in happiness over the Rainbow Bridge with Chad. See you again someday, my angel. ❤

2 thoughts on “Goodnight, Sweet Oreo <3

  1. Thanks for a beautiful post Amanda. I know how difficult it was to write it and I admire you for doing so and appreciate your taking care of it for us all. Oreo made a huge impact on all of our lives that is a certainty. How one little guy could have such an impact is really something. I loved him and miss him but I selfishly wish he was still here. I SO LOVED my time with him. Saying that, the last thing I would want is to see him suffer any, thank God He didn’t. We had the best vet in the world with Dr Horton and the staff of Chicago Exotics, Lamor, Kelly and Dr. Moy. They gave our boy the best care and compassion possible by anyone for which I am eternally grateful. I join you in our wish for Oreo to rest well and popcorn happily. Someday the giant hole in my heart will fill when I see him again and other loved ones I have lost over the years. As the Irish folk song and poem goes, may God hold you in the palm of his hand Oreo.

    Like

    • I couldn’t have said it better. I feel his loss deeply. I feel consoled that he was able to experience his full potential and was able to have joyous times with his family and we with him. It’s a great loss…..

      Like

Leave a Reply

