Happy International Dog Day

Hello, hello, dear readers! I have missed you and this blog! I have so much to update you on, and it will take several posts to do so.

But today’s post is dedicated to the apple of my eye, Leia.

Leia came into my life as the fur-child of my husband (!) (I know, I know, I promise to devote several posts to our love story–I find it quite epic and romantic, but of course, I am biased).

My husband, Dave, and I met online, and one of the first things that caught my eye was the picture of this little Maltipoo cherub. Dave adopted her from a local shelter years ago, and she just celebrated her 10th birthday last month. Can you believe it? Just six pounds, and the perfect little ball of love on your lap, she is our forever puppy.

Leia has changed our lives for the better. She is spunky, clever, and so loving. She always has tons of kisses and snuggles to give; she is the perfect antidote on any *ruff* day (sorry not sorry, I can’t resist a good or bad pun). I can’t tell you how many times she’s kissed away tears or comforted me with her fluffy cloud ways.

She charms anyone she meets, from tough biker dudes (I loved watching one melt into a puddle when he saw her on the sidewalk) to little kids having temper tantrums. She just has a way about her.

Leia has also been our mascot for fundraising for one of our favorite local rescues, Red Door Animal Shelter. We have done a few 5ks with them to raise money for the thousands of animals they rescue–dogs, cats, and bunnies, primarily, but all sorts of other animals, too. We were proud to walk and fundraise under the name Team Leia.

Because Leia made me a proud dog mom, I also got the pawportunity (#sorrynotsorry) to become a writer for DogTime, an online resource with tons of articles for dog parents–much like a magazine, but updated more frequently. I love getting to research, learn, and write about dogs, in a freelance writing position that is very flexible and allows me to focus on my full-time healthcare marketing job. Not to mention, the head editor is my friend from college–it is so cool to watch your friends achieve their dreams, and even cooler to get to work with them after being classmates. I just started this summer, and you can read my first published article here: “Can Dogs Eat Bread? Is Bread Safe for Dogs?”.

Although Leia has introduced me to a lot of neat new experiences, my favorite ones are just being around her. I love gazing into her expressive eyes while we have deep conversations. I love feeling her calm breathing while we cuddle and watch TV or read together. I love her jaunty little steps while we take our walks together in the sunlight or starlight. I even love her occasional mischief. She just makes life better, and I couldn’t be more blessed to be her mom.

Happy International Dog Day to all you dog owners and fans out there! How has a dog made your life better? I’d love to hear your stories!

4 thoughts on “Happy International Dog Day

Leave a comment